GOODBYE TO THE THIN WHITE DUKE

Yesterday, January 10th, two days after his 69th birthday, we lost one of the most innovative, multi-talented and creative geniuses of the music world, the incomparable David Bowie. The Thin White Duke released his final album Blackstar as “a parting gift to the world.”

“His death was no different from his life — a work of Art . . . . he was an extraordinary man full of love and life.”

“Look up here, I’m in heaven . . . ” and will soon be “free like a bluebird.”

Lazarus

My death waits like an old roue’

So confident, I’ll go his way

Whistle to him and the passing time

. . .

My death waits like a witch at night

As surely as our love is right

Let’s not think about the passing time

. . .

My death waits to allow my friends

A few good times before it ends

So let’s think of that and the passing time

. . .

My death waits there among the flowers

Where the blackest shadow cowers

Let’s pick lilacs for the passing time

. . .

But whatever lies behind the door

There is nothing much to do

Angel or devil, I don’t care

For in front of that door there is you.

My Death (Ziggy Stardust Soundtrack)

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011-16, Dianne Ebertt Beeaff. All Rights Reserved.
