On the Death of Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Renowned Colombian writer, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, winner of the 1982 Nobel Prize for Literature, died in Mexico City on April 17, at the age of 87. While his politics may always be suspect and controversial, his literary genius has never been in question. Here are just a few quotes from this extraordinarily creative talent.

“What matters in life is not what happens to you but what you remember and how you remember it.”

“He allowed himself to be swayed by his confiction that human beings are not born once and for all on the day their mothers give birth to them, but that life obliges them over and over again to give birth to themselves.”

“It’s enough for me to be sure that you and I exist at this moment.”

“I love you not for who you are, but who I am when I’m by your side.”

“Don’t cry because it came to an end, smile because it happened.”

“If I knew that today would be the last time I’d see you, I’d hug you tight and pray the Lord be the keeper of your soul. If I knew that this would be the last time you pass through this door, I’d embrace you, kiss you, and call you back for one more. If I knew that this would be the last time I would hear your voice, I’d take hold of each word to be able to hear it over and over again. If I knew this is the last time I see you, I’d tell you I love you, and would not just assume foolishly you know it already.”

Comments
3 Responses to “On the Death of Gabriel Garcia Marquez”
  1. sueadmin says:

    Reblogged this on Dianne Ebertt Beeaff.

    Like

  2. 23summerd says:

    Truly a magnificent writer. It’s a shame that his brilliance is so often unattributed… So many people quote “Don’t cry because it came to an end, smile because it happened,” and yet so many have never even heard of him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2011-16, Dianne Ebertt Beeaff. All Rights Reserved.
